The Government of Yukon has appointed Piers McDonald as the chair of the Water Board. McDonald has accepted the position, effective as of September 21st.

“I would like to welcome Piers McDonald to the Water Board, and I am very pleased that he has accepted this position,” said Premier Sandy Silver. “His breadth of experience will certainly serve the Water Board well. I would also like to thank Greg Komaromi, who has acted as the chair for the last several months, for his service.”

Piers McDonald has served as chair of Northern Vision Development and has extensive leadership experience from his work as a businessperson, miner, and politician.

“I am looking forward to taking on this new position of chair of the Water Board and helping to ensure that the Water Board runs as efficiently as possible,” said McDonald.

Piers McDonaldPiers McDonald.

Former chair of the Yukon Water Board, Loralee Johnstone, resigned in May 2017 for personal reasons. The board currently consists of nine cabinet-appointed members; the role of chair is appointed by the premier.

In April, Yukon and British Columbia signed a shared waters agreement. And, in 2014, Yukon implemented its water governance strategy, Water for Nature, Water for People: Yukon Water Strategy and Action Plan.

The Water Board’s mandate is to provide for the conservation, development, and utilization of waters for the benefits of all Canadians and Yukoners in particular. The board’s mandate is directed by the Yukon Waters Act, through which issues water licences.


Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!