The International Association of Great Lakes Research (IAGLR) is soliciting nominations for the 2018 IAGLR Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award honors a person who has made a notable impact on Great Lakes research with an outstanding body of work over many years, recognizing important and continued contributions to the field over a period of 20 years or more. Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of contribution (sustained and substantial theoretical, experimental, or field research), originality (outstanding body of original work, and reporting on unique datasets), and impact (long-term influence on research in a specific subdiscipline) to the science of Great Lakes research.

Individuals may be nominated by regular members of IAGLR in the form of a nomination letter, a copy of the nominee’s resume, and three letters of support. In the letter, the nominator should clearly indicate how the nominee has made a notable impact on Great lakes research in the key areas of contribution, originality, and impact (approximately 2 pages).

Review the call for nominations and submit your nominee by March 31. Submit your nomination package via email to [email protected].

Past winners of the award are listed below.

Year Recipient
2017 Thomas Nalepa
University of Michigan, Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory
2016 Ronald Hites
Indiana University
2015 Charles Kerfoot
Michigan Technological University
2014 D.V. (Chip) Weseloh
Canadian Wildlife Service
2013 David Schwab
Graham Environmental Sustainability Institute, University of Michigan
2012 Mohiuddin Munawar
Great Lakes Laboratory for Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences, Canada Centre for Inland Waters, Burlington, Ontario
2011 Joseph V. DePinto
LimnoTech, Ann Arbor, Michigan
2010 Don MacKay
Director Emeritus
Centre for Environmental Modelling and Chemistry, Trent University
2009 Murray Charlton
Former Research Scientist and Emeritus Associate
Environment Canada
2008 Joseph H. Leach
Research Scientist
Lake Erie Fisheries Station, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
2006 Eugene Stoermer
Professor Emeritus
University of Michigan
2005 Henry A. Regier
Professor Emeritus
Department of Zoology, University of Toronto


Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!