The Government of Canada and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) have announced 19 communities that will participate in the next two-year cycle of the Climate and Asset Management Network (CAMN).

“This is a great opportunity to share ideas and best practices with municipalities across Canada to advance how we manage and invest in our assets and build strong plans to protect them from the impacts of climate change,” said Kitchener, Ontario’s Jason Winter, the city’s director of asset management. One of the new communities to join the coming two-year CAMN cycle, Kitchener has been granted $174,900 in funding for its work on asset management.

All participating communities will have the opportunity to strengthen their asset management capacity by collaborating and sharing knowledge with a network of peers working toward similar goals. Each network member will develop or refresh an asset management policy or strategy to align with their community’s efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and adapt to the effects of climate change.

CAMN provides peer-learning opportunities, training, and $1.6 million in grant funding to help Canadian municipalities integrate climate change and sustainability goals systematically into decision-making about infrastructure assets, such as roads, buildings, and water and sanitation systems.

“Canadian municipalities are fighting climate change with innovative local solutions. And working together to share information and results will help them design even more successful initiatives in the future,” said Jenny Gerbasi, FCM’s president. “Tapping into this local expertise and scaling up these local solutions across the country is vital to meeting Canada’s national climate goals.”

By embedding climate goals into their asset management planning, communities of all sizes can provide greater environmental, economic, and social value for Canadians over the long term.

Participating communities:

  • Alberta—County of Grande Prairie No. 1, City of Wetaskiwin
  • British Columbia—Capital Regional District, Cowichan Valley Regional District, City of New Westminster, District of North Vancouver, City of Prince George, District of Summerland
  • Manitoba—City of Selkirk
  • New Brunswick—City of Saint John
  • Newfoundland & Labrador—City of Corner Brook
  • Northwest Territories—City of Yellowknife
  • Ontario—City of Guelph, Town of Halton Hills, City of Kenora, City of Kitchener, City of Toronto, City of Thunder Bay
  • Saskatchewan—City of Saskatoon


Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!