Water Canada celebrated the winners of the 2021 Water’s Next Awards on June 10, 2021 as part of the 12th annual Canadian Water Summit.

Hosted by Actual Media’s Content Director Corinne Lynds, the presentation of the 2021 Water’s Next Awards recognized individuals, projects, and technologies that have made significant contributions to the water industry in Canada and beyond.

“We received many impressive nominations this year,” said Simran Chattha, chair of the 2021 Water’s Next Awards. “Congratulations to all of the winners! They have all shown a strong commitment to improving and building upon the work that has been done in the Canadian water industry.”

Water Canada received 70 submissions for the 2021 Water’s Next Awards. As part of the judging process, the Selection Committee identified 38 finalists and 15 award winners.

The winners of the 2021 Water’s Next Awards are:

Category—People: Academic Leader

  • Banu Örmeci—Carleton University

Category—People: Business Leader

  • Benn Kerr—Foundry Spatial

Category—People: Government Leader

  • Indra Maharjan—Ontario Clean Water Agency (OCWA)

Category—People: Non-Government Leader

  • Amy Weston—Nova Scotia Salmon Association

Category—People: Water Operator

  • Warren Brown—Lytton First Nation

Category—People: Young Professional

  • Wai Ying Lam—Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA)

Category—Projects and Technology: Conveyance

  • Bracelet Probe—PICA Corp.

Category—Projects and Technology: Drinking Water

  • Intuitive Water Systems

Category—Projects and Technology: Early Adoption

  • ENWIN Utilities Ltd.

Category—Projects and Technology: Education and Outreach

  • Let’s Talk About Water

Category—Projects and Technology: Stormwater

  • Collaborative Stormwater Management Initiative (CSMI)

Category—Projects and Technology: Wastewater

  • LuminUltra

Category—Projects and Technology: Water Resources

  • Foundry Spatial

Company of the Year

  • LuminUltra

Water Steward of the Year

  • Warren Brown—Lytton First Nation

The 2022 Water’s Next Awards will be celebrated as part of the 2022 Canadian Water Summit, which is being hosted in collaboration with the Environmental Services Association of Alberta’s (ESAA) Remediation Technologies (RemTech) Symposium. More information about the 2022 Canadian Water Summit will be available here in the coming weeks.


Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!